St Chad's CE (VC) Primary School

Achieve through Belief

St Michael Road, Lichfield, Staffordshire, WS13 6SN

01543 226080

"The school’s mantra of ‘Achieve through Belief’ is at the heart of all the work of St Chad’s CofE Primary School" Ofsted 2017

Nursery Sessions

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) is how we describe the first five years of your child’s life.

In 2012 the frame work was revised to make it clearer and easier to use. It sets out

  • The legal requirements we must follow
  • The seven areas of learning
  • Assessments that will tell you about your child’s progress through the EYFS
  • Expected levels that your child should reach at the age of five, usually the end of the reception year, these expectations are called “Early Learning Goals”

 The EYFS is split into seven areas of learning and development; children should mostly develop the three prime areas first. These are:

  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development.

As the children grow the prime area will help them develop skills in four specific areas. These are:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

 These seven areas are used to plan activities and your child’s learning. 

St Michael Road, Lichfield, Staffordshire, WS13 6SN

01543 226080